The 10th Muse

The 10th Muse

March 20, 2009, Barnevelder Movement & Arts Complex, Houston

Scenes from the 19th century operas, Les Troyens with music & libretto by Hector Berlioz, and Sapho, music by Charles Gounod, libretto by Émile Augier; Sonatine by Pauline Viardot for piano & violin; Cortège and Nocturne by Lili Boulanger for piano & violin. Poetry by Jill Alexander Essbaum. Poetry by Misha Penton inspired by the Sapho translations of Anne Carson & Julia Dubno.

Misha Penton, soprano, concept, director
Singers: Alison Greene, Michael Walsh, Shelley Auer, Dennis Arrowsmith, and Kade Smith, with actor Jill Alexander Essbaum; Stephen Jones, piano and Toni Valle, choreography.

Full cast and production notes in Performance Program